Seventh Grade

Okay, so I’m at the very end of summer right? And I’m real excited to go to seventh grade. “It’ll be just like sixth grade, don’t worry Sofia, all your friends will still be there, and the teachers will be easy going again, and I’m sure there won’t be that much homework.” Okay I’m ready for seventh grade!
BAM!!!! That sound? Yeah that’s the sound off my original thoughts exploding in my face.

Here it is, august has arrived, personally he’s not my favorite visitor because he always brings talk of school, and trips to the department store for supplies. But apparently my mom loves him, ” Oh Sofia I just can’t wait to have you kids at school for 8 hours every day!” I mean I guess I know where she’s coming from, but she forgot to mention the fact that we have to wake up at six a.m. every morning to drive all the way to West Ridge since we’re in Hill Country district. Alright Sofia, just suck it up, it’s just school! It’ll be just like last year, last year was fun right? Boy was I wrong!

The first day of school was kind of a blur for me. Kids were crowding the hallways, there were loud bells, and I had no idea where any of my friends were. Finally at 5th period I found bar— oh right, sorry no names. I found — and I went over to talk to her, which I later found out was a bad idea because during the summer —- met Ala*** I mean *** and then they became best friends, and they latter met up with ###, and +++, to create their little passé, which was completed when %%% joined them. Now all my friends sit with *** outside of the cafeteria at an excluded private table. And since *** kind of, sort of, really doesn’t like me because of some big fall out last year over —– I’m the last person she wants at her table. Whatever though right? I have other fiends right? Ugh this year is starting off to a bad start.

In August I was ready for school to start, by October I was ready for it to end. I spent all my time doing truck loads of homework, (thank you very much science reading notes and reviews, french notes, and those god awful blog posts that were due every Friday in English) studying for quizes and tests, and trying to handle my social life. By November I was going mad! And to top things off, I was in way too easy classes. Besides the homework, my brain was half asleep most of the time. And I wasn’t getting regular sleep either because of all that homework, did I already say that I had a lot of it? Well I did. Seventh grade was going to be the end of me.

Suddenly one day towards the end of January something clicked. The homework flood died down to a trickle, I started to get more homework done at school so that I could get to bed earlier at night, and surprisingly I found my place in the foliage of the social tree. Maybe Seventh grade wont be the death of me, maybe it’ll only be the slight bruise of me. But I’m not going to be lured into a false sense of security, and then get whacked upside the head with a frying pan(also known as a stack of homework.)

The next day that very thing happened, we’ll not the frying pan, but some what similar. I was at my locker and stood up (because I have a bottom locker and probably will for the rest of my life *rolls eyes and huffs*) when the kid who has the locker above me SLAMS his!! And the stupid door whacks me right in the face! Yeauch! Ugh a frying pan would have been better. That day I also get loaded with homework. It was like a freaking tsunami! Do you see where I’m going with this?

I guess I’ll never really get used to the seventh grade, but it has taught me a lot, like that teacher who makes us post those god awful blog posts every Friday, we’ll thank you, because I really love to write and I probably wouldn’t have learned that without your help, oh and my science teacher who gives me all that home work? Well it turns out I actually find that all fascinating. Who knew that I would be a science geek right? And my french teacher, well it turns out I’m a natural at french*grins widely and beams*
So thank you seventh grade, you really have thought me something, and I made it out alive right? I look forward to your challenges next year. Eighth Grader, It has a nice ring to it don’t you think?

2 thoughts on “Seventh Grade

  1. You’re welcome, Sofi. You are SUCH a talented writer, and I do think you have grown in part because you have had this blogging “opportunity” each week to stretch your writing skills. Good for you for making the most of it and really doing great work!

    I think I’ll be seeing your name at the Barnes and Noble booksellers someday as a new and rising star author!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *