Cookies

My hands are cold and sticky from rolling out and softening the frozen dough. Everything I touch gets coated in sticky sugar. I pick up a spoon and start to ladle pieces of dough onto a platter.

DING!! The first batch is done!

I open up the oven and the familiar sweet smell of baked cookies drifts up my nose. It take them out and put in the second batch.
TIC, TOC. I wait, and wait. After a while I start to feel a little cold so I go upstairs to get my jacket. While I’m upstairs my phone rings and I get distracted texting my friend.

10 minutes later….
DING, DING, DING. Omg!! The cookies!
I run downstairs into a smokey kitchen. I open the oven and pull out the platter with black ‘hokey pucks’ on it.

We’ll maybe cookings not for me.

2 thoughts on “Cookies

  1. I love your metaphor of the “hockey puck” cookies!

    Great use of paragraphing to build up the events in this post, Sofi!

  2. I can practically smell the cookies coming out of the oven! You are such a talented writer. I love the way you wrote this piece with sound words!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *